top of page

Wayfair News

Forty Two States have Adopted wayfair economic presence Nexus


Of the forty-five states that impose sales tax, forty-two (plus DC) have enacted an economic presence nexus standard.  The following states have adopted a nexus threshold of $100,000 of gross sales in the state or 200 transactions during a 12 month period.


Arkansas                                                              Nevada

Connecticut                                                          New Jersey

District of Columbia                                            North Carolina

Georgia                                                                North Carolina 

Hawaii                                                                 Ohio    

Illinois                                                                 Rhode Island 

Indiana                                                                South Dakota

Kentucky                                                             Utah

Louisiana                                                            Vermont

Maine                                                                  Virginia

Maryland                                                            West Virginia 

Michigan                                                            Wisconsin

Minnesota                                                           Wyoming



The following states have $100,000 of sales as a threshold, without a transaction threshold:

Colorado                                                            North Dakota

Idaho                                                                  Oklahoma

Iowa                                                                   Pennsylvania

Massachusetts                                                    South Carolina

New Mexico                                                      Washington

The following states have higher thresholds of sales in their state

Alabama       $250,000

Arizona        $150,000

California     $500,000

Mississippi   $250,000

New York     $500,000 and 100 transactions

Tennessee     $500,000

Texas            $500,000

bottom of page